Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the supreme decision-making body of the Foundation. It appoints new members by cooption and elects its president in accordance with the Jacobs family council. The joint experience and expertise of the Board members must cover the Foundations entire sphere of activities and all members must be experienced in international projects.

Jenny Abramson

Jenny Abramson has been appointed to the Board of Trustees effective January 1, 2021. She is Founder and Managing Partner of the venture capital fund Rethink Impact. She has a master’s degree in sociology (organizational behavior) and holds an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Patrick Aebischer

Patrick Aebischer joined the Jacobs Foundation Board of Trustees in January 2017. Prof. Aebischer studied medicine and neurosciences and was President of EPFL (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne).

Hans Ambühl

Hans Ambühl has been a member of the Board of Trustees since October 2013. He has been General Secretary of the Swiss Conference of Cantonal Ministers of Education in Bern until 2017.

William Egbe

William Egbe joined the Jacobs Foundation Board of Trustees in April 2015. An engineer who holds an MBA degree, he was Group Director Strategic Planning and Sustainability for the Coca-Cola Eurasia & Africa Group.

Sandro Giuliani

Sandro Giuliani, former Managing Director of the Jacobs Foundation, has served as Delegate of the Board of Trustees since April 2015. He is a Member of the Board since January 2020.

Dr. Joh. Christian Jacobs

Dr. Joh. Christian Jacobs joined the Board in 1995 and was appointed Chairman in 2004. Today Joh. Christian Jacobs is active as an entrepreneurial investor. Since April 2015, he has held the position of Honorary Chairman.

Prof. Dr. Ulman Lindenberger

Prof. Ulman Lindenberger joined the Jacobs Foundation Board of Trustees in January 2012. The German psychologist is Director of the Center for Lifespan Psychology at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin.

Dr. Emiliana Vegas

Emiliana Vegas has been appointed to the Board of Trustees effective January 1, 2021. She is Senior Fellow and Co-Director of the Center for Universal Education at The Brookings Institution. She has a doctor’s degree of education from the Graduate School of Education at Harvard University.

Dr. Olaf von Maydell

Dr. Olaf von Maydell has been a member of the Board of Trustees since May 2013. A tax consultant who holds a PhD in agricultural economics, Dr. von Maydell is a partner in the Schomerus & Partner tax consulting firm in Berlin.

Former Board of Trustees

NameYears in Office
Nathalie Albin-Jacobs2012 - 2019
Prof. Paul B. Baltes (†)
Director Max-Plank- Institute
1989 - 2005
Prof. Jürgen Baumert2006 - 2012
Prof. Ernst Buschor
Former Member of the Government and Minister of Education of the canton of Zurich
2010 - 2012
Flavio Cotti (†)
Former President of Switzerland
1999 - 2010
Pascal Couchepin
Former President of Switzerland
2010 - 2012
Prof. Pierre Ducrey
University Lausanne
1989 - 1998
Dr. David A. Hamburg (†)
President Emeritus, Carnegie Corporation of New York
1991 - 1998
Prof. Michael Hubermann (†)
Senior Reasearch Associate, Prof Harvard University
1991 - 1995
Klaus J. Jacobs (†)
Founder & Chairman
1991 - 2007
Walther J. Jacobs (†)
Honorary Chairman
1991 - 1995
Prof. Eduardo Missoni
Prof. Bocconi University in Milan
2006 – 2011
Lázló Nagy (†)
1991 - 1998
Dr. Auma Obama 2010 - 2015
Prof. Sir Michael Rutter (†)
Institute of Phsychiatry
1998 - 2003
Prof. Marta Tienda, Ph.D.1999 - 2021
Prof. Laura Tyson, Ph.D.2012 - 2017
Prof. Heinrich Ursprung
Former Swiss State Secretary
1995 - 2003

This website uses cookies. If you browse through our pages, you agree to our Terms of Use.